Poets logo

Flight

For the Sensational challenge

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
Flight
Photo by Linus Belanger on Unsplash

I am height

rush and roar

updrafts, carrying me higher

I am lightness

a soft warm heartbeat in a wide, cold sky

ruffle of feathers

I am cold

smell of wind

fresh tang of it

green falling away

everything smaller

life glint, sharp beady flint

I am joy

dip and swoop

fluttering scribble against the vast blue

I am free

+++++++

As always - thank you for reading! I appreciate feedback. Please leave a comment so I can reciprocate.

+++++++

If you are interested - I spent the weekend with family and there was a particular crow circling the garden. He was huge! I enjoyed watching his flight. I hope you enjoy it as well.

nature poetry
11

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Lovely words and a great poem

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    I can feel it

  • This was so liberating! Beautiful poem!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    An interesting poem, I can definitely envision the crow! Nicely done L.C.!

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Oh, the crow that inspired a poem! I really enjoyed this, beautiful imagery.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That seems about as right s us groundlings will ever get it. Well done, L.C.!🦅

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    For some reason, this made me recall Poe's story about a guy who flew off to the moon on an air balloon filled with a gas that is 30-something lighter than hydrogen. Haha, and before that, he killed his creditors.

  • Kelley Steadabout a year ago

    I love your use of all five senses. Flying is always fascinating to those who can’t achieve it ♥️♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.