Poets logo

Flesh Tone

Pride in Love

By Danielle CampbellPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I grew up the white elephant among naysayers

with my head down and her name resting softly on my lips.

My hazel eyes watched as the judgmental congregated,

eagerly waiting to brand another scarlet letter on the next Hooker's green dress.

How dare an unworthy guest bow to pray among their burnt umber pews and dirty champagne walls!

Paynes gray and silent, filled with a 'damned desire', I hid in my closet writing love letters to her sun-kissed hair and sky blue eyes.

She was the color of freedom.

An indigo child with a spirit as vast and untamed as the ocean,

her skin haunted my adolescent thoughts and threatened to unhinge every door that shut me deep inside of myself.

Our first kiss painted the air in chakra colors and I meditated on every hue of her aura.

That was the moment I learned,

God is a flesh tone.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Danielle Campbell

I believe in life after heartache, hope after death, and the healing sound of a sentence that rings in your ears.

God is inside, look there.

Look up when you want to see the stars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.