Poets logo

Fix a Broken Heart

My attempt at poetry

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Fix a Broken Heart
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I thought I had a good thing

I thought I had a sure thing

I thought you were the best

but when it does not go your way

I had to fix it

Your heart had been broken and bruised

And I stood there trying to fix it

Happiness, I forgot what that word means

Confidence, I forgot what that word means

Joy, I forgot what that word meant

Laughter, I forgot what that word meant

I tried to fix you

I tried but failed

You kept coming back to her

I tried to make you forget about her

But you kept going back to her

I tried to fix it

And in the meantime, I was breaking

Breaking, cracking and shattering

It is all I can think about

I tried to fix you and forgot about myself

I turned into someone I did not recognize

I admitted it

but this whole time I was trying to fix you

I dyed my hair into various colors

to forget that I was trying to fix you

I changed my plans to fit yours

I broke under the pressure

You stopped giving me a reason

And I stopped trying to fix you

I got tired of the fight

You left me with no fight

So where do you get the nerve?

to ask me to fix you

I know you, you're like this

wishing it goes your way

and like me I did

Then, he came along

Nice. Just nice

Polite and I am reading it as something else

Because you broke me so bad

That I confused nice with the one.

I had a nightmare.

A nightmare that you shot him in the back

I get it now.

I will carry that baggage with me

I am tired of carrying it by myself.

I create a wall, no one can get past it

I create chains across the wall

No one can get past it.

Someone needs to tear it down

Someone needs to hack away at it

Someone needs to break the chains

Someone needs to smash that wall

With everything

Then, the baggage will lighten

They just have to be patient

Put up with the drama

My heart is not broken

My heart is still big

My heart still knows how to love

My heart still knows it's not you

My heart puts up with a lot

After all, it put up with you...

You broke me first.

He made it easier within three weeks

That's all it took

It took one nice guy

To help me move on

That is all it took one nice guy

Confidence. Restored.

My fight. It came back.

I remembered that I am awesome

I remembered how to laugh

I remembered what it felt like to be me

I remembered what joy is

I remembered that no man can take me away.

I am worth the chase.

I am worth the fight.

So fix your broken heart on your own.

I am done.

You stopped giving me a reason.

All the red flags that I ignored.

Came at me in one night.

I saw what I am missing.

I envied everyone else.

They had it right.

I had it wrong.

He is out there somewhere.

He will treat me right.

He will pay for dates.

He will have a job.

He will be there when I am sick.

He will be there for me, not for himself.

He will give me flowers.

He will be worried about someone else stealing me.

He will be the father of my children.

He will respect God.

He will know what he has when he has me.

He will write songs about us.

But most of all he will have a heart similar to mine.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.