Poets logo

Five

“A life worth living”

By Corey W HarlandPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Richard Pieniakowski #Richiecamerahands

“Five”

Grew up as a second child

Never raised the leader till the wild

Born a five and raised a twelve

May have gave my parents a little ‘ell

My inner Aries is worn proud

Whenever I have my Capricorn ‘round

Sagittarius can be quelled

Just find another five to wrap around

I’m glad to have my four young men

Independent

courageous

trustworthy

and witty are my kids

If it weren’t for them I’d maybe have

Four other real close friends

I was raised by another than mother

Had five fathers but not the one whom

I was born too before he became an

Angel like other good men

Served the Army

Though if an Airmen I’d been proud

As long as it was alongside more

Strong women and good men

Three generations now and I’d be

Proud to see one of my children

Fly around

maybe sail a ship

or

Just translate really well,

Would rather see them just go to college

and such, just grow-up,

That would make me proud.

-CWH-

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Corey W Harland

Retired soldier, writing as a therapy, hobby, and as a dream career as I go. I hope to fill this page with poetry, photographs, and stories that will inspire all who read to embrace their own beauty and let their own lights shine bright!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.