Poets logo

Fitting In

Why should I?

By Paul GarlandPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember that day as clear as if it were now

You, sending me to camp

Telling me to be good

Play nice

Make friends

Fit in.

Like fitting in was the goal, the entire purpose to the summer

Forget learning to ride a horse

Make a craft

Pay attention to the beauty that is around you

Just

FIT IN

I came back from camp a failure,

unsure why “fitting in” was so important

Especially given the very tiny chance

of ever seeing those campers again

Would, in fact, be unlikely to even be remembered

Yeah, that one kid- he just seemed to “fit in”

And it made me

Sad

Not for me! For YOU!

Suddenly I understood why your shoulders perpetually

drooped at the end of the day

Why you dreaded to go to work

Why your hair was turning gray at only 35

You were still trying to “fit in”

Trying to find your “you” shaped space

in a world so fractured and broken

That you’d need to break off pieces of yourself

Just to come close to “fitting”

And I knew, in that moment

That I would never “fit in”

I would never accept a world that broke me,

that was not content to accept room for me

As me

Because why should I be the one

To give up my self

To break off pieces

Losing them, losing

Me

To try and find a spot in a world that didn’t want me?

How much better to choose instead

A me that the world wanted

A me the world would make room for

A me the world would watch and know

Deep down

That it would never fit in with me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.