Poets logo

First Love

Written by Lauren Michelle Bryde 14/12/2014

By Lauren BrydePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
2
First Love
Photo by FLY:D on Unsplash

I put on a Disguise, to cover up Cries.

I put on a Mask, to continue on with the Task.

I put on a brave Face, to hide my Disgrace.

I put make-up On, to make me feel good you were Gone.

I have all these Distractions,

But now all have resurfaced and Today is the Day,

Here’s the Reactions.

No artificial means can cover up and keep it at Bay.

I am not afraid to use my Voice;

You must listen to what I have to Say,

You have no Choice.

I Love you Unconditionally,

You are Beautiful just the way you Are.

I wish to be with you on your Journey.

To meet and greet the real person you Are,

The trip really isn’t that Far.

Let down your guard, shield and Sword,

For it was always the real you, I Adored.

I forgive you, for the way you Acted,

As you had no idea what you Attracted.

Loving Yourself First,

Did you have that Thirst?

Please don’t think you are Cursed.

Some things are out of our Control,

Being a Loving person is your Role.

Love is the only Goal.

I wish you were proud, I wish you could See,

Each person you encounter is a reflection of Me.

You are a Father, Mother, Brother and Daughter,

Drink from the cup of Life where Love is the Water.

Let the liquid touch your lips and you will be Saved.

Loving yourself is all you Craved.

Distractions came and Went,

New ones yourself Sent.

Until one day you became Thirsty,

You looked into the Cup of Life and realised it was Empty.

Something was Missing,

You focused on others, never on you never Kissing.

All relationships you had were Unstuck,

Where was the glue, not Luck.

You searched outside the cup, outside yourself for the Answers,

Hoping an outside Source,

Could fill your Cause,

And Cure the made up Cancers.

It wasn’t until everything around you fell Apart,

You finally realised,

Looking inside yourself, was the Start.

Your heart was heavily Guarded,

Walls as high as the Sky.

When did Love and you become Departed?

And what was the reason Why?

When did you forget the Connection?

And worried about your outward Complexion?

While Learning Each Lesson made you Nervous

It was always leading to a Greater Purpose.

You Finally found the water you Needed,

To quench your Thirst.

Now you have engaged in this Life

And Proceeded,

By Loving Yourself First.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Lauren Bryde

30something, Nurse, Crochet Lover, My Mother Inspired My Poetry, Always Follow Your Heart

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.