Poets logo

FIRST GLANCES, SECOND CHANCES

Love at first sight does happen even if it takes years for the other to look back

By Michael LewisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

In our youth we ask

Can love at first sight truly exist

The one real moment

Or is it but a fanciful wish

An answer I received

Fifteen years in the past

At a work Christmas party

First sight's magic at last

Words are imprecise

To convey that night

How captivated was I

By her very sight

I was drawn to her

Of that I was sure

Made me hope

That we could be more

I summoned my courage

For I had to know

So I asked the question

Only she said no

As colleagues she wished

For us to remain

Continued working together

Time lessening the pain

Great friends we became

Moments with her I gained

Years passed, my feelings

Waxed and waned

Until a bad workday

A shared glance from afar

I cared you were upset

And walked you to your car

So it transpired

In my empathic look

Sowed the change

In your heart, it took

A chance unlooked for

You soon let me know

Holding my hand

Asking if we could give a go

So here we are, began

A first sight's love story

A winding path taken

But now here in full glory

What I felt was returned

By you finally, all to the fore

Affections deepened quickly

And we became much more

From holding hands

To the first lingering kiss

The first "I love you"

All we hoped for and wished

Although it was long

The road to me and you

For us, love at first sight

Blossomed to "I do"

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.