Poets logo

First Fire

Accessing my ancestors

By Denise SheltonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
First Fire
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

When the weather turns irritable

And the season's first shivers commence

I buy wood and light a fire

First, I lay down pinecones from my neighbor's tree

Crumbled newspaper, maybe

Kindling: skinny sticks, and slats

I dig out the long matches and light the fire

Here, here, and here

Then there's the breathless waiting

Hoping

Watching to see if it fizzles or flares

And then...

As the tipping point passes

And the blaze is assured

Something stirs in my DNA

And I feel my ancestors close at hand

They are my assurance

That my sort survives

Rare comfort indeed

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Denise Shelton

Denise Shelton writes on a variety of topics and in several different genres. Frequent subjects include history, politics, and opinion. She gleefully writes poetry The New Yorker wouldn't dare publish.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jessi2 years ago

    Well written! Thanks for sharing this beautiful piece of poetry.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.