Poets logo

Fire

burn, burn, burn

By Violet LeePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Fire
Photo by Chris Rhoads on Unsplash

Dust soiling cupboards, I felt alone

I needed answers, called him to come

He sounded mad, screamed to the phone

‘Damned if I know, I’m far away, and it’s 2 a.m’

You look into his eyes, don’t see pupils but flames

From his mouth, pure poetic libretto spills and spills

He’d make a good writer

But I am more dangerous with my fountain pen and quill

I could write you into my bed

Lay on soft linen built from my tears

I would hum a deadly lullaby

Watching blood spilling from your ears

And after the show is over

The silence kills us both

Sentiments and memories keep our lips sewn

A single drop of sweat is heard

It disrupts the flow of air

The harmony is irreversibly broken

Like a torn harp string can't be replaced by a wire

Your medicine is violet

It lives in your veins for free

One tiny spark and you would be ​on fire

But the risk is worth it, isn't it?

With every greedy sip, part of you dies

You pray for silver lining

Thoroughbred heretic in disguise

You make your knees bleed on purpose

To show what a martyr you are

Your blood is colored purple

Just like the remains of your heart

Flowers wilt at the sight of you

You're like the epitome of winter

Lips colored in a shade of blue

And your breath full of cinder

I could cry a million tears

Just to quench the fire you are burning me with

I would bring here the Pacific

Make the waves take you with them, to the distant land of myth

And like a moth in love with the light

I cling to you blindly

My wings are getting shattered, though

The idea of falling never seemed so lovely

They call me Icarus, I love what is killing me

The heat of the fire is like my gasoline

You pour it, I drink it, no place for morality

My eyelids are drooping and drooping

Until a much more vivid world opens before them

My hands are freezing cold, I gasp, I cry, is it the end?

The ground is always tough, it has no humanity

The world I built vanishes

I feel the sharp pain of reality

You made me this way

You are the culprit

You made me addicted to your blazing soul

To the constant wish of death and insanity

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet Lee

English student with vivid imagination. Be kind :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.