Poets logo

Finish Line

Paradise

By Julian ShoafPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

How do you think the world will end?

I want to hear what you have to say.

I want to hang on your every word, again.

Do you think the sun will fall from the sky?

I do.

Will you spend your last moments with your family?

Will you want to?

Will you cry?

I think I will.

But it’s not because I’m afraid to die.

No, that’s not it at all.

I’ll think about the moments I’ve lost.

I’ll think about the ones I’ll never have.

I’ll think about all of the times that I’ve lied.

I’ll think about every bruise, and every scar.

And how I’ll never again be able to watch the stars.

Or pick my friends up, in my car.

I’ll think about where I’ll go, when I’m gone.

And all of the times that I was wrong.

I’ll think about your eyes.

And how I’ll make my final goodbyes.

Above everything, I’ll think of the peace.

The peace that will come to you.

The peace that will come to my family, my pets, my friends, and even the strangers on the street.

The peace that will come to me.

I like that thought, a lot.

Maybe the tears won’t be from sadness, or even from fear.

Maybe they’ll be joined with a smile, from the thought of a paradise that is near.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.