Poets logo

Fining Agents

Crushed and Bloody

By Rae SolacePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Uploaded to Pinterest by practicalselfreliance

I don’t mind

being

your mangled thing.

Your human

chunk of bone

and slime.

We both know you

could make me beautiful

if you tried.

You could crush me with grapes

beneath your feet until the fermenting

blood and yeast bubble together.

Your bare hands

could scoop out the insoluble

matter from the sieve:

The hair, the nails, the affection,

my oozing,

burning infection.

You could keep me in a jar

just to look at on occasion.

I wouldn't mind that life

as long as you can force

a smile

to pass over

the bottle’s glass each time

before I’m downed.

Alas, I know you’ve never been much

of a drinker.

The blood rising sulfites

and hangover of it all is too much

for people like us.

It's part of why I like you:

You and I have always chosen to die

of this gnawing life

the same exact way.

Not with a bottle to our lips,

but with a bit of gristle saved

beneath our tongues to

chew again later.

love poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rae Solace

An amateur in all regards except taste. Fiction writer, poet, jewelry-maker, craft-maker, painter.

English Creative Writing BA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.