Poets logo

Finding the Sun

And you also

By Kayla Lynn WaksmonskiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Kayla Waksmonski-'20

Standing in the field, feeling the warm, as it fades away.

Stretching out to find the last bit of light, hoping it would be so bright.

Asking for just another moment, to embrace it's strength.

As the Sun sets, I hope the dark doesn't settle.

The sounds the dark brings, can only be so far.

The cold that comes, can't stay forever. I know I have to have the courage to make it through.

I can't let the dark, take my shine.

The longer the dark stays, the weaker I feel.

The louder the chatter gets.

The lonelier the feeling becomes.

The harder it is to pick myself up.

I know my faith will get me through.

My courage will grow stronger, as the night grows longer.

As I find the battles while I go along, they do not come easy.

But can be conquered.

I will stand strong.

And not be defeated.

And when I find you, we will be face to face, again.

But the dark has brought challenge.

But the dark has brought challenge.

And just as I think I've been lost, there's a break.

The Sun shining rays of bright for me to find.

And I will find you, and know my Faith reminded me, the sun will return.

And then I will find you, and know my Faith reminded me, the sun will return.

My yellow sunflower, stand tall, and shine bright.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Kayla Lynn Waksmonski

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.