Poets logo

Finding Me, Finding Home

A Love Story

By Misty RaePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
16
Photo is mine

All my life I've yearned for something just out of reach,

Better than I had, better than I was,

Could I do it? Could I have it?

Did I even know what it was?

Enigmatic energy,

Frantic and unfocused,

Going nowhere, and somehow everywhere,

Harbouring the fears and doubts of generations before me,

I couldn't find my way,

Just false starts and broken dreams,

Killing my soul, bit by bit, slowly, but surely,

Letting everyone down,

Mostly myself,

Never knowing, never fitting,

Outwardly jubilant, inwardly lost,

Practiced smiles to hide the pain,

Quiet, lonely tears cried behind closed doors,

Running from the reality,

Something has to change,

That thing was me

Unvarnished truth, harsh, freed me from my chains,

Voyeuristic visions inside myself tell the tale,

What I needed was you, my heart, my home,

Xanadu in real life inside your embrace,

Zion is finally mine.

love poems
16

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    The Promised Land is yours.

  • Very well done. The answer is yes, absolutely

  • PK Colleran4 months ago

    That was truly lovely! And a perfect use of the abc format. Wonderful. 💖

  • This put a smile on my face! It was so wonderful! Loved your Abecedarian!

  • Tressa Rose4 months ago

    So relatable, and beautifully written! Well done lady ❤️

  • Excellent work!!! It flows together very well and makes sense. I can tell you put some thoughts into this.

  • Excellent effort! Good luck in the contest!

  • Love this 💙

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fabulous love poem!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    That is so sweet. Well done.

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Beautiful, I hope you found your Xanadu❤️

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Wow what an impressive poem🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.