Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Finding Comfort

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 12 months ago 1 min read
Finding Comfort
Photo by sk on Unsplash

Eat healthy, they all say. But they don’t play fair.

They don’t understand they’re the cause of my stress eating, it’s my way to repair.

They cause me stress and put me into a state of despair.

If they really wanted me to eat healthy, they’d show me they cared.

They’d make sure I was happy, because happiness makes you healthy, because happiness replaces food and makes you internally wealthy.

It’s not my fault food releases dopamine in the brain. If you want me to eat healthy, don’t make my feelings wane.

They cause me stress, it’s a mess.

They make unreasonable demands, argue with me and throw cans.

They kick me when I’m down, then ask me why I frown.

They get me mad, make me feel sad, then aggravate me again and again, then wonder why I can’t stop eating in the end.

If you’re not relieving my stress or are making it worse with your unrelenting demands, at least let me eat what I want without reprimands.

Don’t judge me for eating, we all have our vices. I don’t judge you when you’re out smoking, drinking or rolling dices.

If you see me out eating, please let me enjoy my food. If your going to call me unhealthy, fat or be in any way crude, please keep your bullshit judgements at home, I’m really not in the mood.

I’m a human being trying to deal with my stress by eating a sandwich, so if your going to cause more and be nasty then get out of my life, you witch.

fact or fictionsocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalhumor

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Even I feel better after reading that. Glad you were able to get it all out and say what needed to be said.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    People can be so mean when they think they are doing good. I find comfort in eating .

  • Gail Wylie12 months ago

    Love this! So honest. Having worked in the field of autism for the last 30 plus years, most of which focused on listening to those on the spectrum as I fully believe they are the true experts and we must make the effort to learn from them, I have seen this type of situation happen far too often. Stress out the person and then blame him/her for the reaction. You said it well.

  • Omggg I knowwww right! People should mind their own freaking business!

  • Joelle E🌙12 months ago

    I really appreciate your straightforwardness and honesty about things we all feel. This is an amazing poem 👏🏼

  • Understanding ❤️😉💯📝😊👍👣

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.