Poets logo

Fill the Void

06/23/20

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

06/23/20

“I will not have you without the darkness that hides with in you. I will not let you have me without the madness that makes me. If our demons cannot dance, neither can we.”

Nikita Gill

We were not born of sunlight and laughter,

Rather the shadows and screams.

I was not made to be sane,

Nor you to understand joy.

Perhaps, though, that is the reason we are:

So that our demons may dance through our wreckage.

I cannot speak for you,

But mine was lonely in the chaos.

You are chronically depressed,

And I am unstably bipolar.

I worry that the darkness will consume you,

I worry that the madness will control me.

We cannot pretend our demons do not exist,

For their loneliness is their reason for malice.

Let me embrace you,

Let me love yours as I love mine.

Mine has raged from the isolation for too long,

And I know you feel it, too.

So let’s allow our demons to dance,

Allow them to fill their void.

If they cannot dance,

Neither can we.

We were born Incomplete,

But maybe we can create wholeness.

I will love all of you,

If you can adore all of me.

Maybe we will never be truly whole,

But our demons are true and perfect partners.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.