Poets logo

Fiction Or Non-Fiction Is The Question

Which do you prefer? I like both for different reasons!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Fiction Or Non-Fiction Is The Question
Photo by Shiromani Kant on Unsplash

Fiction is “literature in the form of prose

that describes imaginary events and people”.

An example: He said, “Her cat was named Rose!”

“She survived after she fell from the steeple!”

****

Non-fiction is “prose writing that is based on facts,

real events, and real people, such as biography or history”

An example: My cat was named Rose, and she liked to try attacks

when you least expected it! She was not a nice cat in my story.

****

Read each line, and take a guess which it is now:

My cat was a reiki practitioner

And loved to take a bow

And you could call her a vacationer

As she was always trying for the suitcase or the car.

****

A feline with a taste for toothpaste.

She left nothing in her dish, no waste.

She sat on my nephew’s head.

She was old and now is dead.

****

A favorite of the family.

We could never replace

Our Rosie.

Or keep up her pace.

****

Mice were never safe.

She even went into space.

My hero!

Or should I say shero?

****

And now, the fiction is, Rose never went into space and she didn’t have a thing for toothpaste, or love to take a bow as she didn’t know how. And you couldn’t call her a vacationer, as she wasn’t trying for the suitcase or the car. Well, maybe she would if the suitcase was just sitting there open! It wasn’t so we will call this fiction.

****

Then the non-fiction: Rose was my shero/hero, when she would catch a mouse at that certain time of year when they would come into the house. Mice were never safe around her. She was our family’s favorite and couldn’t be replaced and she has died. Then once she sat on my nephew’s head, which was the worst place for her to sit as he was allergic. No one could keep her pace as she was too fast and wouldn’t get caught unless she wanted to.

****

This one could probably go either way as Rose thought she was a reiki practitioner as every time I would have a reiki circle, she would be there and she would jump up on the table to give someone reiki. And whoever would think of a cat as a reiki practitioner?

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.