Poets logo

Fever Dream

it isn't supposed to make sense

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
photo by Dima Dimax on Pexels

Someone took my nose,

and I wanted it back, so

I built a sailboat

*

out of comic books

that my dad used to read me

when I was feeling

*

ill, and I paddled

through the ocean of my own

tears using the same

*

flip flop I lost when

we braved the shore of quicksand

to save my fallen

*

kite. Then a tired gull

asked if she could perch on my

head so she could fly

*

again at twilight

when it was easy to find

jewelry lost to

*

the tide. A peace

of my mind is still missing

from the fever dream.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Linda Rivenbark9 months ago

    Delightful!

  • Yusuf Alam10 months ago

    🔥👌👌

  • Natalia Grin11 months ago

    Unusual (for me, at least) and captivating. Love it!

  • I loved this so much! It was fun and creative!

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    As an occasional and somewhat ardent user of psychedelic substances I heartily endorse and love this in equal measure!

Sam Eliza GreenWritten by Sam Eliza Green

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.