Poets logo

Female Gaze

After the Parade

By Nicola R. WhitePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Female Gaze
Photo by Caique Silva on Unsplash

I am a force of nature

You call me ambitious like it’s an insult

Say my bluntness is rude, as if I care what you think

Tell me I’m too heavy like I don’t know how beautiful I am

I am a river and the more you try to damn me,

the harder I will push back

until I bowl you over, leave you gasping for air,

drown you in my current affairs

I will not miss you, will not even notice you are gone.

If I cared what you thought of me,

my mind and my heart would be as empty as my refrigerator

Deserts do not miss the pyramids they bury

Jungles do not miss the cities they consume.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Nicola R. White

Nicola R. White comes from a small city on the east coast of Canada where ghost stories and superstitions abound. Although she is a lawyer by profession, her passion is reading and writing fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.