Poets logo

Feeling Child

when you feel so much

By Donna Morgan Published 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Feeling Child
Photo by Arwan Sutanto on Unsplash

Crying, crying it doesn’t stop

Crying and sighing

Why?

Make it stop!

The child sits and cry’s some more not knowing why or what for

Her parents say what’s with the tears

What’s biting you now, what do you fear?

The child shrugs she doesn’t know what it is, why her tears flow.

How does she explain what she feels?

Her father says "what is it now? If you must cry do it elsewhere."

The voices whisper quietly

No one else hears

Only her ears alone

How do you tell them what you feel?

The voices of thousands crying somewhere not here

How do you speak of the saddest of feelings, the heaving and sighing

But from where or whom

What of the dreams of last night the screaming that woke them with such a fright?

Seeing the millions in peril as earth cries I don’t want to hurt them not now not at all

How do you tell them, would they even believe, the cries of others passing from earth too

But most of all the deepest of tears for the giant trees and mountains as the water rises and they disappear.

The earth she cries and sighs some days and nights

I don’t want to hurt any but my surface-like skin is hurting and screaming from the battering of things

Many times, they must learn to change to live with nature and

not to wilfully destroy

To take whatever they wish

To feel like it is a right

She heaves and she shudders and begins to shake.

The child feels the heaves and the quakes and the sighs

It’s happening again the child sits and cries

She cannot speak her voice frozen in tears

No one understands how could she say what this strange thing is

How it happens some days

She weeps in silent despair

The feeling overcomes everything within

She hears a soft voice

Oh, my precious do not despair

I’m here and you are heard you’re not alone

I understand I see your pain

The child frowns just a little

She doesn’t know this voice or where it comes from

I am your grandmother of the great kind

"I hear your cries I see it all "

"Never despair this is natural you see"

"For you, my child are very much like me"

"I am a grandmother of your family line"

"I am your great grand a seer of olde"

"I am a guide you are precious in ways others don’t know"

"Worry not of those who do not understand or care to know"

"One day the world will listen to your words, never before seen or heard many a story you will tell of nature and spirits."

"Send them out to the world for many that wish to be heard and seen"

For now my sweet precious baby child I sit with you and calm your life".

The child touched her cheek her shoulder and her hair nothing there yet she felt her body ease of despair

She sighed and relaxed, let it all wash away

It felt like a dream as bad as can be but she knew what she felt was the truth, the earth meant the words spoken that day.

Her parents came in to see the child smile

"Well, it’s about time now go outside"

"You cannot stay couped up get out and play."

The child complied that’s what she did even though knowing what it meant

Her feet would vibrate her legs pulse and her ears hum or drum.

Voices whispered on the wind as it traversed

For her, it was just another day feeling the rhythm and the hum of the earth.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Donna Morgan

I am a lover of the mystical the magical and the spiritual.

I write to heal myself and to share my journey with anxiety and life that I experience through my feelings.

I love to write it is my healing place.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • John Eva2 years ago

    "Feeling the rhythm and hum of the earth" = A line I wish I would've come up with. Brilliant!

  • This was so deep. Very beautifully written. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.