Poets logo

Fear

FEAR is no longer my master!

By Jose ZunigaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
17
Fear
Photo by Kiwihug on Unsplash

Fear lives in the core of my being. It’s constantly talking to me and telling me how much of a disappointment I am. Fear took me by the hand and steered me down a path of self-destruction, despair, and hate. Fear is a state of uncertainty and lack of growth. Fear ripped love and compassion from my heart and replaced it with hate and self-torture. Fear seeped into every fiber of my being, it constantly pokes and prods me to remind me it’s there and it’s not going anywhere.

Am I to be a slave to a parasite that continues to suck the life out of me and drags me down a road of despair? A slave answers to a master that doesn’t value the hardships and sacrifices the humble servant has endured. A slave does not have the awareness of a power that is within him, if he could only open his eyes to the light that’s just beyond those dark smoky clouds. A slave cannot see a better tomorrow because today is like yesterday and yesterday is like every other day.

A slave becomes a master when he realizes that all the hard labor and mental torture he endured, molded and shaped a monster that had his mind set on redemption. That eternal feeling that this storm will never pass, begins to subside and once the slave flips that sorrow and turns it into strength, it can demolish anything in its path.

FEAR is no longer my master. FEAR no longer dictates how I navigate this world. FEAR fooled itself into thinking it was steering me in the wrong direction, I learned through misdirection that the tougher the road the more I thrive. FEAR failed its mission of turning me into a cold and heartless man, but somehow succeeded in helping me open my eyes and finally seeing a better tomorrow. A tomorrow that I can allow myself to feel joy and true serenity. “I” am the MASTER of my life, yet a humble servant that respects fear and understands that fear is always ready to take the throne back and rule with an iron fist. Out of the darkness one day the LIGHT entered my soul, faith led me down a path to the kingdom of angels that were once lost and tortured just like me, there I was introduced too… GOD.

inspirational
17

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.