Poets logo

Favorite Song

A poem about heartbeats

By Frank Ezernack IIIPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Favorite Song
Photo by Elias Maurer on Unsplash

A man and a woman lying in bed one night

Wrapped in each other, she's holding him tight

He moves down to her chest and turns his head to the side

takes a deep breath and closes his eyes

He says "I could do this all day long,

because your heartbeat is my favorite song."

A young woman dressed in a medical gown

today is the day of her first ultrasound

"There's your baby!" She turns her head to the side

and looked at the screen as tears fell from her eyes

"The baby looks good, and the heartbeat is strong!"

That strange swirling sound became her favorite song.

An old man sat by a hospital bed

He listened carefully to the words that she said

"You know I love you, I'll see you again someday."

He held her hand as the music faded away

"Goodbye my love, goodbye my best friend."

He said as his favorite song came to an end.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Frank Ezernack III

I'm a production manager at a pallet factory in Pennsylvania. I write poetry in my free time as a hobby and a passion. It's an honor to be able to share my work with you all! I write on a wide variety of subjects and themes. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Laci Nowlinabout a year ago

    Love!! ❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.