Poets logo

Father May I?

Subtext of the story is about the difficulties of someone trying to do what they think is right according to what they believe and have been taught, while also being 1 of the people suffering from the same aspects of trauma and familiar issues mentioned in the work of those around her that she is helping while also still LIVING IN THE THICK OF IT, type of community! Asking for answers to obvious questions that are rather self-explanatory in what the problems are in their impact if no self control or order is ever followed or listened to! In this story she is hoping in her prayer of questions poem, for an actual answer? But will it work, I guess we`ll see if a 2nd part too this story comes to the heart and the pen of today`s brand new written work? :-)

By Jennifer CooleyPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Father May I?
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

June 8th, 2023!

Father May I?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Travel the world

By a great big beautiful

Houseboat,

At sea?

All that fresh fish,

Super crabs & lobsters to eat

For free, just for me?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Do things without asking

By prayer first?

Can`t I just go to Vegas

And play some slots

And table games,

Losing all my money

Smiling and laughing

Without a care in the world?

In a City of bright lights

That never sleeps,

I don't have to worry

About how to replace

Just how much I`ve lost,

Because you`ve got me covered,

From above?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Live without serving,

You know…

Cooking, Cleaning,

And taking care of others?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Have someone take care of me too

For all that I do?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Listen to any cool music that I like,

Without worrying about

My decision making skills,

Or well-being

Serving the God I know,

After listening to all their street punk

And strife type of advice?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Drown out what's in the hearts and prayers

Of others in need,

Suffering from abuse and trauma of their own

That live all around me,

In the deepest, darkest,

Days of their addictions

And self-harming?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Escape…

And leave my traumatizing background

Behind me too?

Is there a way, to get to a place,

Where I don't feel the pain, or choke back

Tears…

For us all,

Living in the thick of it?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Write these words for all those whose voices

And cries out in the jungle of,

Metropolitan streets

Remain unheard,

Who are not able to use a pen,

The way I do?

So their stories can be known,

As they struggle to find

Recovery,

And lessen my burdens too?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Daily tell myself,

None of this is happening…

That life is just and adventure

Like visiting amusement parks

Or hanging out with the animals,

At the zoo…

Trying to understand,

Which one of us is more free

Them,

Or the practicing Christian in me?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Become rich and famous

And live a life,

Debt free…

Smooth sailing, without strife,

Always having access to

Everything I need?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Be somebody who's never told

`NO`

Simply,

To live like those upper class

Privileged,

People do?

Can`t I pretend

That it's all,

Just coming from you?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Ask to be someone you`ve given

A magical gift too,

That means

I can control the dial,

On time

And make it move forward faster,

To get the world out of this one

And jump right ahead,

To a better place and time?

To throw up our arms

And hats in celebration

Of the end of sickness, suffering,

And the greenhouse effect,

Free from Global Warming?

A brave New World,

That is Strong

Healthy and Young!

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Ask for an answer

From you?

That I`m not asking for to much,

In trying to twist your little finger

Or,

Prick you in the heart

To change your mind,

About the plans you`ve written

Out,

From a long time ago

When things were, just starting out?

Isn`t that

What revisions and 2nd Editions are for?

Can`t you maybe

See…

Room for improvements too?

May WE give you some input

And share our thoughts and feelings,

About living as the humans

We are,

(Helplessly in your hands)

Down here?

Para-adventure

That maybe,

As the Father…

You possibly

Make mistakes too?

God is Good;

But maybe,

Just misunderstood?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I,

Please ask you

To help ME understand?

How do I tell others

How we are to get through,

To the other side, of the bible`s story

From here?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Father may I?

Are you there,

Father?

It's your turn…

To Talk!?

Written by,

Jennifer Cooley!

* * * * *

Thank You for reading!

If you liked this work, you are welcome to find your way to my page

where you can leave a tip. pledge or subscribe! I would love to hear people`s impressions, visions and emotions in regards to reading my work.

And I welcome more ideas, suggestions and encouragement for continued work that could be enjoyed here by readers and challenge me in the way of continuing to write new things!

Here are more places to follow my career and read or watch, look at pictures or just learn more to any questions you may have! :-)

www.futureproductionsonline.com

www.facebook.com/isuperwoman

https://vocal.media/authors/jennifer-cooley-48hfjk0yqk

www.youtube.com/iamjustjen

https://www.starnow.com/u/jennifercooley1/

https://www.stage32.com/profile/822213/about

https://www.instagram.com/jennifer_cooley1/

https://www.instagram.com/thesmallvillemovie/

https://www.instagram.com/ladyjennifernor/

Twitter: @Smallvillemovie & @JenniferCooley1

surreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalhumorfact or fictionart

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jennifer CooleyWritten by Jennifer Cooley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.