Poets logo

Fate

Thunder, lighting, and golden skies.

By Shai KaraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Fate
Photo by Lukas Spirig on Unsplash

The earth shakes when I hear your name.

The summer sky turns to gold.

The birds start to sing our favourite song

When we think about growing old,

Sitting together in our beautiful home,

White curtains hanging bold,

Stained with the paint of late night screams,

A hint of blood on the floor.

My heart can’t help but bleed

When you walk out the door.

How the thunder stops and lighting strikes

When you hold me in your arms.

When we want to feel close, yet feel so far

Because no amount of love is ever enough.

My longing and aching never ends;

Your touch truly mends

Every wound I’ve ever endured,

Most of which were at your hands.

How my knees go weak and my naive heart beats

When you show up in front of me,

Your eyes shining with that glimmer of hope

That I’m hoping, this time, we can keep.

Although the hurt feels like a dagger,

It only makes me stronger,

Strong like we are when we are together.

And still, oh still, you fill me with faith

Because we both know

This is our fate.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Shai Kara

Shai Kara is a graduate of the University of Ottawa's MA[Ed] in Counselling Psychology program. She has a passion for poetry and creative writing. To see more of her work, visit @storiesbyshai on instagram.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.