Poets logo

Farewell, sweet June

Why only 30 days of perfection?

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
9
Photo: Pixabay

On a genial evening in June,

As the birds and the breeze sing in tune,

I think of July

And let out a sigh,

Dreading cruel heat to hit soon.

nature poetry
9

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I've actually been thinking of writing more limericks because I was missing them. This might just inspire me. Love that this was not really a jokey one, but still fit perfectly with the singsongy nature of limericks. Also, while I don't agree with you because of where I am in the world, I can still feel your dread through your writing! Bravo, Sonia!

  • I so feel this, Sonia, & couldn't agree more.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Beautiful!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Awesome piece and a Great picture ❤️😉📝❗

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Ahhhhh I’ve been missing limericks! This one is so sweet and true too ❤️☺️. June really is the best part of summer.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    A limerick that isn't a joke?! What is this magic? This is too lovely, Sonia. It rolls off the tongue, it paints beautiful melancholy at the month's end...and brings a dread for the midsummer heat. Thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Succinct perfection! June, here, foretold a scorching July. I really enjoyed this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.