Poets logo

Family

Sad Times

By RuthPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I still remember that summer,

A time when I was younger,

Living my life quite mundanely,

I asked myself that summer,

How was I going to be now?

It was a random thought,

I didn’t put too much thought into it then,

Then as fall came closer,

Wen the winds were getting colder,

Snuggling under my blanket, about to close my eyes,

The thought came again,

What was it going to be like this time next year?

I had thought then that my family would be together,

We would be under the same roof chatting, cooking smiling,

I smiled looking forward to it, started to count the days down,

Oh, how wrong I was,

I didn’t know that though,

So, this naïve girl looked forward to what was never going to happen,

Not too much a tragedy to some but to her who’s family is her lifeline,

It was agonizing,

I was still daydreaming,

Summer had gone, fall had come.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ruth

I am here to see how creative I can be :) Enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.