Poets logo

Familial Fables

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
8
Pawel Kuczynski, "Adam and Eve," 2014

Our enigmatic origins have been

The subject of many peculiar tales;

Sacred, secular, lofty and obscene

Many involve a villain with bright scales

A purveyor of knowledge forbidden

Of life delicious and of bitter death

Of moral truths and distinctions hidden

Which spell out how we draw and waste our breath

All explain how, as characters, we must

Obey our author and fulfill his plan

But our own writing is seldom discussed

To hide, perhaps, where the story began

When a story declares itself divine

It seeks to hide the truth of its design

Ekphrastic
8

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran14 days ago

    Gosh this was so profound and thought provoking? What is the actual truth? We may never know. Loved your poem!

  • Test14 days ago

    yeah, well you don't need to see the pictures.....geez. I wish this platform would not insist on them( except for ekphraistic pieces) This is fine work, D. J. Slick, layered, astute. I have not been around of late. I just do not have the energy to create and share on this platform as I have in the past. I have struggled to stay, using the prompts to keep my pencil sharp, but when I see how much ( and how often) mediocrity is rewarded here, it just hurts my writer's heart too much. ( btw - his majesty had an epic game last night...fingers crossed for game 7) do stay in touch if you would. find me on whatsapp or facebook. i enjoy your wit, your wiles, and your company.

  • Grz Colm14 days ago

    Omg I totally missed the snake 🐍 at the top!

  • Grz Colm14 days ago

    So cool and loved this ironic line particularly “Which spell out how we draw and waste our breath”. 😄 I can’t believe this artwork is called Adam and Eve. Very much liking your inspiration and creativity here, Mr D.J.

  • BrettNotGreg15 days ago

    Loved this! I love your pieces and how the placement of each photo pairs well with the imagery that your words create.

  • Emil indw15 days ago

    The true history of human origin, is still interesting. Especially the human component itself. I hope I didn't misinterpret this poem. Your poem is good!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.