Poets logo

False Skin

This poem is about what a lack of support from others can do to a Transgender teenager

By KatPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

like shards of glass piercing,

As these kindred eyes glare;

A young girl’s voice whispers,

Her hand upon my shaven hair.

My lonely sobs into Mother Nyx’ sky,

The sharpened edge deepening the red lines;

Reminding that I’ll never be alike,

The Self-imposed horrors of my counterfeit confines.

The feeling of loss,

Upon my wronged soul,

Plagues my misguided mind,

Feeling like I’ve lost control.

A collection of broken masks,

Laid out in lined rows;

A museum of countless facades,

Their worried thoughts dispose.

This uncaring world is so cruel,

The unwanted stare of judging eyes,

The unknowing frowns of disapproval,

My feeble unsubstantiated guise.

My clothes don’t feel right,

My body broken and battered;

I feel like my life is an unending fight,

This mirror of mine has shattered.

The fight for support and validation is unending.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kat

I'm 16, Autistic, She/they and I like to write in my free time! I mostly go for fantasy and superpowers but enjoy trying out other genres too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.