Poets logo

False Security

A poem about out-of-control love

By Lily WinterPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
False Security
Photo by Nathan McBride on Unsplash

Baby

Baby, you mean the world to me

But that's what everyone says

Anyways

And the meaning has slipped out of the words

Leaving all the worlds they spoke into existence

Emptier than the promises they made

As they sat next to your sobbing, shaking body

Telling you they weren't going anywhere.

All the stars in the sky

Couldn't tell you how much light you give me

Millions

Upon millions

Upon millions of pinpricks of light

Pricking skin like a burning needle until all that's left

Is blood

And bones

And light

Each a ball of burning substance,

Burning brighter than any hope

I have ever been given,

But not burning longer

Than any hope that's been ripped away

The pull of your love

Like the moon to the Earth

And the Earth to the Sun

Keeps me in place

Telling me I'm special

That all the other moons

And planets

Aren't as precious to you as I am,

Holding me in an endless cycle

When all I want is to desperately spin

Out of control,

Ramming into satellite

After satellite,

And ricocheting off through the cosmos.

But instead,

Your gravity

And the gravity of our situation

Keeps me grounded

Hitting the ground and burying underneath it

6 feet under with any luck

Hoping to never come up for air

Because air hurts more than you could imagine

When laced with your own insecurities

And false security

From someone else.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am a twenty-year-old university student and avid writer. If you enjoy my work, a comment or tip would mean the world. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lily WinterWritten by Lily Winter

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.