Poets logo

False prophets

Co-dependency gone awry

By Anna TorresPublished 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
False prophets
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

I’ve felt your wrath. I’ve felt your warmth. I’ve dealt with your toxicity and all your complications. I want a miracle, some kind of divine intervention. One where you’re stable enough to heal all my afflictions. The truth will burn. You’re not untouchable. I release you from your mundane bonds and the lies connected to me. I waited for a confession. I waited for a century. But instead you destroyed my faith. It took a blind woman to see. I will not be healed by you. There’s nothing you can fix. You can’t make me a martyr. I can’t love you for an eternity. Our brilliance shown no mercy. We had our time together. Our time is running out and it’s killing me. We took our vows. We had our anniversaries. What we built got washed away. And now I have my doubts. You’re a lying hoax. Placebos are a Hail Mary. I watched you plunge into hell and struggle to get out. I sought the cure. I’ve fought your demons and failures. I’ve crucified your wounds and heard your trumpets sound. My soul is immaculate or so I heard. I can’t be corrupted anymore. No longer will I be bound. Your relapses are all yours. My words fell on deaf ears. I can’t serve a master and be enslaved anymore. Sickness is ugly. Mistakes can be averted. The blood we share reincarnates us and I hope we are reborn

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.