Poets logo

Falling Out

The moment there was no us

By Hira K.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Falling Out
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

When these moments

Became memories

I can't seem

to remember

Was it the time

When we grew apart

Or when words

Began to linger

When our tongues

Caged our thoughts

When our smile

Had tasted bitter

Or when our tears

Had dried our throats

And our hearts

Had sworn to wither

When those flowers smelt

Of pain

And laughter became

Empty

When you weren't

And I weren't,

The person

We'd used to be

And I wonder

I wonder

When these moments

Became Memories

And I wonder

So often still,

Of how this came

To be?

For the person I see

In my memories

Is not the one

That stands, afoot

You look alike,

Seem alike,

But we've changed

From nook to nook

And I can say

That I did love

And that yet,

perhaps I still do

But the person I love

Lives within my mind,

And that person is no

Longer you.

-Hira K.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Hira K.

Windchimes. Palettes. Sky.

A writer finding her voice on screen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hira K.Written by Hira K.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.