Poets logo

Fallen Emperor

Every Empire Has It's Fall

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2

He became everything

he thought I wanted

after we broke up

*

As if that was enough

*

Changed his major to mine

Spent more time outside

Told me I'm beautiful

Bought me flowers

Tattooed his arm

*

Wrote me poems

His notebook paper

torn from the seams

read to me

*

"Reaching for you

is like reaching for the stars

you can try

but you know

you'll never make it."

*

I crumpled it

into a ball

and tossed it

in the trashcan

*

Physical changes

don't create

the vibration of love

*

Something he couldn't offer me

Something I gave too much

*

I remember him ugly crying

For my heart he yearned

I offered him condolences

I reminded him of his new girlfriend,

"Aren't you happy?"

*

He exclaimed with hatred,

"It's not the same!"

My eyes stood still

As I stated blankly,

"And it never will be."

*

It's been seven years

and he still awaits the day

That I will take him back

As if I will be fooled again

the poor fool waits

*

But whatever he does

will never be enough

because he is incapable of love

*

I gave too many chances

to someone who did very little

*

Someone who robbed me

of my peace and time

Someone who ran

my love well dry

*

The heir to the Aztec Empire

had fallen to his knees

*

Cuauhtémoc kneeled

before me

Recognizing

the power of a queen

*

I walked away

towards brighter days

Filled with

effort, love, and peace

*

He waits for me

but he will wait forever

Because everything

he does outside himself

doesn't mean a thing

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.