Poets logo

Fall in Love With a Poet

For the Heavy Hearted

By River Gilliam Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Fall in Love With a Poet
Photo by Clark Young on Unsplash

“Fall in love with a poet”, they say

You’ll leave them in ruins

But they’ll disappear

In the most graceful way possible

And then so

When you think of them

You’ll only ever taste honey in your mouth

Mixed with the bitter aftertaste

Of their absence

Because as for me

I’ll take the dust of my bones

And the blood that beats

Through my fragile veins

I’ll paint brushes across the sky

I’ll collect the colors of the sunrise

And turn my tears

Into ink

And with feather pens

I will never stop writing about you

You’re lucky, you know

Because you’ll always be

A beautiful metaphor to me

You will always be a poem

Safe

Painted in the meadows of my mind

love poems
1

About the Creator

River Gilliam

My dad always said he knew I was going to be a poet because I was crying before I had even completely left the womb. It’s always been my dream to get published someday.

She/her. Cosmetologist. Writer. Vegan. Dog mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.