Poets logo

Faith

By: Karlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
'The Commencement' by Ang Pagkilala courtesy of Aan Art via FB (31.01.22)

1.

Trusting in something you can’t touch or see

Believing you’ll heal based purely on how you feel

The blind leading the blind in reality

Still when everything starts to miraculously fall into place

Victoriously splendid in both feel and taste

Wondering how you made it now, that is what we call Faith.

2.

Logic in battle, damaged and lost

Use intuition or superstition at peril the cost

Nothing makes any kind of explainable sense

Everything hinges and could fall either side of the fence

Hands clasped and on your knees

You turn that celestial being in whom so few believe

With tear-stained face, you plead your case

Hoping and praying all won’t end in disgrace

Then it all begins again, an unexpected call from a caring friend

Before you know it, random unexplained acts resolve it

Oh yes, that is pure Faith.

3.

Destroyed because in You I naively trusted

Robbed by You, Broken by......You, I was down and dusted

Left to try and mend all that was laid waste

Mouth bloody and shaking with your bitter venomous taste

I gave You all of Me, plus interest

Sadly I was not worth much, Your heart you failed to truly invest

Razor to wrists, staring into death’s compelling abyss

Who would want to rescue what’s left of this

In He rode, my knight; armor so gleaming & shine

Claiming my remanence, shouting ‘You are all beautifully mine'.

Before I could feel, I watched me heal

Unimaginably alive, how did I survive

Only by hoping, not seeing but knowing

All I needed was Faith.

Art by Olga Dobertstein courtesy of the Kasugalery via FB (10.08.20)

[End]

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.