Poets logo

Faith

Letting go

By Pamela Williams /Perthena#2476Published 3 years ago 1 min read

Ladybird, black spots on crimson red in the grass she crawls. By contemplating time and the space in which she lives, her future appears to me by denudation; I see obstacles in her way, dangers she will face. Should I permit her freedom to choose her way, even if she chooses the way of hardship and a spider’s web? I attempt to warn and guide her by closing doors with twigs and mud, but blood seeps from her knees as I become the anathema. So I retreat to let her lose or win, and in the grass she crawls away as blood seeps from my knees. God, let her win.

nature poetry

About the Creator

Pamela Williams /Perthena#2476

"Every little thing's gonna be all right." :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Oh my gosh, I love this! "but blood seeps from her knees as I become the anathema. So I retreat to let her lose or win, and in the grass she crawls away as blood seeps from my knees. God, let her win." Damn. I've never felt so much emotion for a fated bug before. I cannot imagine how you pulled this out of your lovely imagination; it's such a small thing, such a forgettable occurrence, yet you blow it up larger than life, and so utterly beautifully. You capture the God-like ability we have to hinder or help a small creature's path toward life so well here, that question of, "Should I let it continue as nature would intend in my absence, or does my presence assume my help too?" I adore how deep this micro story is. You're so talented!

Pamela Williams /Perthena#2476Written by Pamela Williams /Perthena#2476

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.