Poets logo

Failed distractions

An acrostic poem

By Beth SarahPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
20
Failed distractions
Photo by Valentin Lacoste on Unsplash

Darling, in your absence the time in my life

Is a void - a black empty space in which I am struggling to see the promise

That may be hiding in the darkness.

Reticently, I search for ways to brighten

And fill it. I have become a

Casualty of my own fear and complacency, forgetting to

Take the time to ensure that

I was worthy of you.

Options and actions emerge to keep me busy, but it doesn't work really -

Now I just find myself clinging to the futile prayer that someday - when the path is smoother and I can give you the stability you need - when my mental load is lighter - you might return to the faithful home of my heart.

sad poetry
20

About the Creator

Beth Sarah

We've been scribbled in the margins of a story that is patently absurd

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Kale Ross6 months ago

    Hopefully heartbreaking poetry! Love it.

  • Kindred Soul8 months ago

    Excellent heart-touching poem.

  • Great Piece❤️- Congratulations on your Wonderful Top Story🎉🎉🎉

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was amazing! What a great entry! And congrats on top story!

  • Bri Craig8 months ago

    "I have become a /Casualty of my own fear and complacency" wow! excellent line!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Lovely absolutely lovely!!! Cheers & congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Sending hugs for your fellings, great words

  • Dean F. Hardy8 months ago

    Justice! Delighted to see this up here. Congrats Beth.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is stunning, Beth. I kinda thought I was subscribed to you, but I've fixed that. Well done on an amazing acrostic full of heartfelt emotion. Very moving!

  • This is such a beautiful poem… you found the words my heart longs for…. From that one someone it fails to let go of. Well done ✨❤️

  • Lana V Lynx9 months ago

    You have a way with words! This really moved me. However, as it stands now the acrostic reads DITRACTION (sorry, sometimes my internal editor bursts out). Did you forget to hit "enter" before "struggling to see the promise"?

  • Dean F. Hardy10 months ago

    This should have gotten more love, more attention. The stretch of lines from "Casualty of my own fear" to "Worthy of you" is truly beautiful and raw and universal. Our insecurities in love can be so consuming. The ego just can't leave us be. Much love, Beth.

  • No one is ever worthy of another's love. It is always but a gift of grace. Even so, I feel this very deeply, Beth, for I constantly think the same things of myself.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.