Poets logo

fading hearts

a villanelle

By Alison BrookePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
fading hearts
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I couldn't believe it was you there with me

held close in your arms where I felt I belong

as we stood together beneath a budding spring tree

footprints in the sand, together happily

that summer when our love burned strong

watching waves fold back into the sea

in a fading autumn light you turned from me

my heart was burning, full of song

but in the tune of bitter melancholy

we can't go back to that dying winter tree

before it all went terribly wrong

now I look to you and you just don't see

I fell away from your perfect harmony

another face mixed up in the throng

desperately seeking the girl lost from me

this is the way it was meant to be

after all this time, now it won't be long

I was never the person you wanted to see

please let me go, please set me free

heartbreaklove poems

About the Creator

Alison Brooke

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Gosh, this was so relatable and I felt it deep in my soul. Loved your poem!

Alison BrookeWritten by Alison Brooke

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.