Poets logo

Faded Pictographs

Even memories aren't immortal

By savage writerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
the further i consciously ascend - the farther i drift away from humanity

memories of a faded childhood

faces on the wall that aren’t even around anymore

moments that i can never salvage again

i regret taking my life for granted

memories of a faded adolescence

the girls in the hallway that i really had feelings for

now, I’ll never get to tell them how i feel

that chance is gone with the wind

i no longer exist anymore

memories of a faded family that wasn’t picture perfect

i could have done something to save them, but

i couldn’t even save myself,

so i was no better than them

memories of a faded adulthood

i was so close to being on my way

to extraordinary things in life,

i was blessed

i would’ve popped off with my books and everything

i would’ve gotten all the adoration and acceptance

that i always sought out

now i can never get it,

it’s too late to apologize for this mistake

i regret claiming my life, i should have

listened to my friends when they

were telling me not to do this

i regret taking my life, i should have gotten closer to Chelsey

i regret taking my life, i should’ve went back to the damn therapist

i regret taking my life, i should have hit that blunt again

why did i have to do this to myself

memories of human intimacy

i was capable of giving some out again

i should have been more receptive

i should have smiled more,

i should have never talked so much crap to people

i should have listened to my elders,

i never did anyway

i was a problem child with a head

stronger than some cast iron

no wonder that belt kept getting

brought down upon my behind

i should have never went through with it

it’s all a distant memory,

everything is fading

ahem, JADED

my existence has faded

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.