Poets logo

Factor V, 27 and Me

Blood, sweat and genes

By Kayleigh TaylorPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
https://images.app.goo.gl/gBJjk7DFSB4jpzjz6

I pride myself on loving, on loving the people in pride

My first kiss with a girl, quickly took my heart on a ride

Her red cherry lips, tasted so good, so soft and perfectly pure

Opened more than a window, she pulled me in, then she opened a door

A door to possibility, a want to know, to know the real me

I grew up and quickly found out, who that was meant to be

Half a gay, a semi queer, the one that just liked both

I had all the names through school, it quickly became a little joke

Then I hit my twenties, no one flinched and my company became sound

But then my life began a worse turn and turned completely upside down

Belly aches and muscle pains, my body began to crack

Endless doctors told me to try every possible life hack

Until finally one listened, listened to me and listened to my pain

It turned out life had handed me more, more than I wanted to gain

The first thing was 27, Hla B to be precise

It means my immune system is just too good and attacks it's passers by

Immune diseases, endless aches, muscles and bones that hurt

No cure for me, just problems continuously, then it just got worse

The next doctor years later finally springs on me

After endless weight loss and clots of by blood "It's factor V you see"

The Leiden kind, but I'm still here but life has drawn me to red

From that first cherry kiss to my platelets blood, I settle in my own bed

So unique I am and I stay strong, full of joy and pride

A life I wouldn't change, and me I wouldn't too. I'm just along for the ride.

Thank you so much for reading my work. Your love and support encourages me to carry on.

I have dropped links to information in regards to my gene defect HLAB27 and my blood disorder Factor V leiden.

If you're feeling extra generous, how about a tip?

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kayleigh Taylor

Book, coffee and pet-obsessed writer who loves writing raw truths and fictional fantasies. I hope you enjoy.

Kayleigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.