Poets logo

Facing the World

Frustrated feelings of my youth

By Laura LannPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Facing the World
Photo by Tavga K.S on Unsplash

*This poem was written when I was a child and due to the heavy nature of it, I feel needs further explanation. While it can easily sound like a contemplation of death, it was not. Rather, it was how I felt looking out at the world as I got closer to 18 and moving out. I was at a pivotal point in life where I would have to decide to leave home and the abusive household I had grown up in. It was scary and difficult because I did not know if I would succeed or not, yet it was a path I knew I must pursue.*

She stood on a moonlit ledge,

Hovering over the edge,

Waiting to leap,

As through her fingers bloods seep.

Red spreading like a flower,

Over her heart to devour,

As she drew in a ragged sigh,

To tell the world known goodbye.

Her feet stretched forward,

Yearning to reach toward,

The freedom she sought,

For which she had long fought.

Maybe her wings would fail,

But that was just as well,

Because they had never been spread,

Crushed beneath the cage of lead,

But she had to try,

In order to justify,

The cruelty life had dealt,

And the pain she had felt.

So, she drew in a final breath,

Yanked her courage from its sheath,

And over let gravity pull,

Not surrendering to sleep’s lull.

inspirationalsad poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.