Poets logo

Fabulous Fairytales

And The Chance To Believe Again

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
15
Fabulous Fairytales
Photo by Artem Sapegin on Unsplash

now that I’m old enough to read fairy tales again (CS Lewis)

I’ll revisit the stories and practice pretend

prepare my broken heart for the pledged happy end

where the world is easy and everybody’s a friend

*

music falls soft, like raindrops

while wishes are made on the stars

the second shoe never drops

and no one brandishes scars

*

the moon calls to the ocean

fragile hearts don’t have bars

to protect from harsh emotions

when life's decisions get hard

*

I’ll believe the unbelievable

put my trust in what may be

in a world where the impossible

was written for me

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalFor Funfact or fiction
15

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Nothing wrong in reading fairy tales for they are great inspiration.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Ah this felt so nostalgic! Loved your poem!

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    LOVE THIS! Chronicles of Narnia are my absolute favorites and a big influence on my love of writing and fantasy! Great poem, Kelli!

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    Very poignant.

  • Believing means that you're at least halfway there. May the fairytales be yours for the living, my friend.

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    It's what a child's life should be...totally innocent with the privilege of gullibility along with the safety of parent's arms and eyes.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Lovely!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    I love Narnia 👏great one

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    Great poem! Narnia!

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    Wouldn't it be nice? Great poem, Kelli!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.