Poets logo

Extraordinary Measures

free verse about letting go of a toxic friendship

By Angie SeminaraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Extraordinary Measures
Photo by Arseny Togulev on Unsplash

When I see you, my head pounds

When I talk to you, my throat is sore

Am I sick?

Or am I sick and tired of the bullshit spewing out of your mouth like vomit.

The tang leaves an aftertaste more sour than the way we left things.

Moving on is the best medicine,

But you doused me in the sickly sweet scent of your soul,

The formaldehyde keeping me from letting the memories decompose

So I kept fighting and I put the relationship on life support.

It doesn’t matter though,

As the erratic beat turns into a flatline, I declared the time of death.

If you wouldn’t offer me a “clean” break I was going to make one,

even if it was riddled with more disease than the corpse.

I wanted to bury and mourn it, but our friendship is a morgue;

Sterile and haunted.

The husks of who we used to be dissected by my thoughts every chance I get.

Where did I go wrong?

The autopsy is inconclusive.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Angie Seminara

reader. writer. artist. advocate. musician. fire enthusiast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.