Poets logo

Expiration Date

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Expiration Date
Photo by Henry & Co. on Unsplash

I hold in my hand

and in my soul

and in my head

the expiration date.

Instead of holding

a morning tea

I am inevitably reminded of the

meaning behind

the expiration date.

How gratifying it must be

to know it.

To have it inside my hand

and know that in spite of that

I will choose to throw it out anyway.

One way or another

from one bridge to the next,

the expiration date will fly from corner to corner

until it no longer has any room to crawl back to.

I will have expired it.

And in my hand,

instead of constantly holding

Death's ticket to the Ferris Wheel,

I would have exchanged it for

the rollercoaster instead.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.