Poets logo

Expectations

I can't possibly get what I want from you

By Susan Eileen Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Expectations
Photo by Samantha Sophia on Unsplash

My Attempt at a Song/Losing your best friend

EXPECTATIONS

In my dreams, I fall in love

you were the one that would make it all ok,

Make all of my troubles go away,

Don’t hold on too tightly, everything’s going to change.

I can’t possibly get what I want from you,

So we’ll keep talking to strangers,

But there are rules I should I follow to,

Just what should I do,

I said you were perfect, but

I can’t possibly get what I want from you,

So there is only one thing I can do,

I’ll keep burning bridges, because

I that’s just what I have to do, and I ain’t feeling blue

In my dreams, you were the one,

But you were just another dream fallin through,

You were on such on a pedestal, I didn’t think that over,

I don’t how your feeling, but I’m not feeling the same that you do,

So I got another one, this time it’s true

Wait wait, I should think this over,

Just give it time, and I’ll be feeling blue

I can’t possibly get I want from another one,

If I couldn’t get it from you..

I know you’re not perfect, but

Maybe I can possibly get what I want from you,

So there is only one thing you can do,

Start a fire, to burn a bridge

That’s just what you do, now I’m feeling blue

In my daydreams, you were the one,

But you were just another dream fallin through,

You were on such on a pedestal, that can only lead to feeling blue

In my daydreams, you didn’t have another one,

But I didn’t think it through,

I had another one too, he’s the new one now too

I said you were perfect, but

Now I know the truth,

So there is only one thing I can do,

We’ll keep burning bridges, because

that’s just what we do, and I ain’t feeling blue

I said you were perfect, but

I can’t possibly et what I want from you..

I’m on to the next one too… just like you…..

heartbreak

About the Creator

Susan Eileen

If you like what you see here, please find me on Amazon. I have two published books under the name of Susan Eileen. I am currently working on a selection of short stories and poems. My two published books are related to sobriety.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Susan Eileen Written by Susan Eileen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.