Poets logo

Excuse Me

By Will TudgePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Excuse Me
Photo by Filipe Almeida on Unsplash

A day like any other, it could be any day

But it is this day that I will remember:

Suddenly I am aware of a new thing.

I fix the room in my mind, I will be telling my children,

My grandchildren, anyone who will listen,

Exactly what this place is like; the place I first saw you.

How the mirrors behind the bar made me think it was bigger than it really was,

How the music was too loud, and not my sort of thing at all,

How the decor faded and the music stilled, when I first saw you.

I know everyone says “I knew…” but I knew.

Like I know gravity. Like I know to breathe.

Like my heart knows how to beat.

And then it’s too much to bear.

Do I need the strain?

Is this really a good idea?

She probably has someone.

She probably won’t like me.

She’ll probably say no.

No. I can’t let this moment slide into the sea of maybes.

Can’t live forever wondering.

Can’t wake at 2am one night and know I missed my chance.

Uncertain. Queasy. Excited.

A lifetime lived in milliseconds: first words, dramas, starlit walks, fireside chats.

I know you already. I don’t even know your name.

The blood drums in my ears. I start to sweat.

I swallow, and again. I can’t, I must, I must, I can’t, I…

Must. Now. It’s time.

I cross the room.

“Excuse me…”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.