Poets logo

Everything You Are

Search for identity

By Jordan McCoy Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2

What is your name?

So simple.

A question,

Asked again and again.

I always know the answer.

Simple

Im me.

But my name is not my identity.

Ask me now what you really want to know.

Ask me before you make preconceived notions about what you think I am

and then choose to go.

I am not my name.

I am not those who were before me

who were called the same as I.

But I can't touch the ground they walked on without seeing the same sky.

We all have our experiences.

We walk alone, but always together.

Everything is relative.

We’ll all be here forever.

We are forged from the same stardust.

by accident,

but it was absolutely fate.

Completely inevitable

Its ok.

You want to know me

You already do

I am me

but I am you too.

It all comes down to one thing.

So simple.

artfact or fictioninspirationallove poemsnature poetryperformance poetryslam poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.