Poets logo

Everything.

Poetry about sadness

By Isabella RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Everything.
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

When I met you at sixteen years old

I was naïve and carefree

And I trusted you with everything

You took them for granted

And left me under the cold rain

Drenched under the falling drops of water

I realized I made a mistake of letting you in

So I shut everything off completely

Never letting anyone in again, I hated them

I thought everyone was going to hurt me like you did

And years passed, I changed so much

I became happier than before

Trusting only few people with my heart

And they did not break it like you before

Your name was like a forgotten memory

That I couldn’t recall, even if I tried to

Until months later, someone asked me about you

For a moment, memories of us flashed through my mind

A tear fell down my cheek, and I realized that I still loved you

But I smiled through the pain, because I have learned to let go

And I’ve grown now, nothing is a big deal anymore

We were just children back then, and we didn’t know any better

I told them the truth, we weren’t together anymore

And it was okay.

It’s okay as long as I keep myself busy.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Isabella Renteria

"Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks." - Plutarch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.