Poets logo

Everyday

Simple Routines

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Everyday
Photo by Andrei Caliman on Unsplash

The alarm clock sounds it's warning

is it really 6 am?

I roll over for a moment,

to escape the traffic jam.

Of the tasks to do today,

all my busy, premade plans.

So I yawn and stretch awake,

encouraged by the weatherman.

I climb into the shower,

the water greets a warm hello.

I smell the the coffee start to brew,

feel the blood inside me flow.

Reflect again on past events,

the celebrations come and gone.

I wander wrapped inside my towel,

and wonder what I should put on.

The TV catches my attention,

another scene of gathered crowds.

protecting rights of one another,

tempers and voices getting loud.

I look again at my reflection,

and ask her, what is going on?

Why can't we get this figured out?

This struggles been going on so long.

I take a deep breath and remember,

what my mother used to say.

About being kind to one another,

don't let your pride get in the way.

And for the most part I agree,

we should try harder to get along.

But somedays my pride just can't ignore,

when someone intentionally does me wrong.

I take a deep breath again, and smile,

my reflection smiles back.

Today's a brand new day, girl!

You can get your focus back on track.

I put my shoes on, grab my bag,

my keys and cellphone and head out.

Another day to show the world,

just what this girl is all about.

I'll change the world, just wait and see!

The power I need, is here inside.

My desire and effort, mixed with grace,

determind self respect and pride.

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    Very motivating. Nicely done.

  • Hassan2 years ago

    Loved it!

  • This was a beautiful poem!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    That was fantastic! Loved the rhythm. Well done :)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is great. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!!👏💖💝

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.