Poets logo

every morning

- to those finding themselves

By Eriko JanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
every morning
Photo by Michael M on Unsplash

Stitched together, with two coarse hands,

from rags, and rugged, a rag doll

No smile, yet smug, or scheming perhaps.

Girl or boy, no matter at all.

-

She walks and strays, forever lost,

one hand in the hole, that one in her chest.

Lost I said, but mood aloft.

Lost I said, but ne'er distressed.

-

Girl, did I say? A boy today!

Still hollow, still empty, still searching each year.

A boy, a boy, and he's on the way,

a feeling, a hunch, is drawing him near.

-

No tears or cries, or gasps of surprise.

Something is wrong, though it has no name.

A stillness, or dullness, she can't vocalise.

So on she goes, are others the same?

-

Every morning, he rushes ahead

Every sundown, she pauses for breath

Every evening, he picks at loose threads

Every night, she puts him to bed

-

Passers by lessen and lessen,

warm and real, and hearts pumping.

Their faces exchange a range of expression,

"That's what I want, that's what I'm chasing!"

-

On he tread, four fingers clutching,

'til came another, all frays and tatters.

"Are you like me? Do you know what I'm missing?"

"Same as me, you have all that matters."

-

The stranger went on to appease the glum soul,

"That pit is your own, you fill it yourself,

with black and white, purple, and yellow.

It fits, I promise, I did it myself!"

-

In they went, one by one,

to no rejoicing, or rushing of glee.

But day by day, as the journey went on,

a feeling grew stronger, a feeling of me

-

Every morning, they rushed ahead

Every sundown, they paused for breath

Every evening, they picked at loose threads

Every night, they went to bed

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Eriko Jane

Psychology student / film buff / socially progressive

Twitter: janesonthetrain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.