Poets logo

Euphoric Discomfort

sensations

By Jada FergusonPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
3

Specks of deformed and malnourished thoughts-

Scour through months of sewage and debris-

-

And at 2:26 a.m. my concepts and feelings-

Are being streamlined-

As delicately as sugar is blown-

-

A tedious tortuous task-

That never takes its' intended shape-

And often shatters before it is placed on the display table-

-

The liquified meals of the day soak my dry tongue-

And I gulp down the river of acid my dam couldn't stop-

-

Sweat glazes my hand and I trace my clouds and mountains-

Oiling my thigh tattoos, tending to my canvas-

-

A black spot soars across my glasses and I swat at it to protect myself-

My coarse coils twirl around my pointer finger to ground me-

-

I vacuum all the air my nostrils and lungs can withstand-

Waiting on a whiff of white tea and sage that lies sedentary-

Instead the odor of blandness stings the back of my throat-

-

I am clawing and scraping to present a complete thought before I collapse-

So I feverishly attempt to compound my thoughts into a resin textured waterfall because blown sugar was too fragile-

But 37 songs of other people's self expression tunnel past my ear wax-

Causing 111 cracks in my creation-

-

My body starts producing its own salt based waterfall-

I ooze off the velvet couch to the hardwood floor-

Edge the table out of my away-

And I perilously connect the shards -

Staining the glass like material with blood from the fast appearing cuts on my hands and knees-

-

Time leaves my consciousness-

-

When I reach the climatic placement of the final piece of my makeshift, unrefined puzzle-

My chest completes its final death roll-

I rise-

Glance at the product of my euphoric discomfort-

And turn the lights off

surreal poetryart
3

About the Creator

Jada Ferguson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Perry Feaster Jr.11 months ago

    My soul finds a home with the poetic banter of this work. Often seeking solace in a similar sanctuary, revives my senses and restores my harmony. Well done!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Super superb surreal poem!!! Left some love!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.