Poets logo

Euphoria

a poem

By Ella ValentinePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4

I am coming and you are gorgeous -

a little drunk,

dressed up in stockings you think you can't pull off,

and a sudden euphoria takes over me-

Exhausted and beautiful, you said more things than I could have ever remembered but I wasn't even listening

I could look into everyone and see what was going on inside them - I looked at you and I didn't know

were you sad because I was going back to Los Angeles

were you sad because you thought I didn't like you

were you sad because they didn't have your favourite pasta.

You were perfect and I was leaving,

you moved like a feather, fragile and powerful

you made my weaknesses, bad thoughts, vanities and hunger

vanish. And that was only the first time I ever saw you.

I thought I made you up inside my head-

This morning's cigarette,

this morning's sweet regret blasts and shudders in me. When did love stop being rebellious?

I drive down the Californian coast,

ashamed of my sentimentality and

possible love.

Tonight I'll read books and remember our night together; how we rolled up the carpet

so we could dance.

I play it in my head like a movie and

you’re the star.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Ella Valentine

A poet and screenwriter based between NYC, LA and London. I'd love to connect with fellow creatives - feel free to reach out to me!

Twitter: @_EllaValentine

Instagram: ella.vn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.